6 August 1994

to: Whomever it may concern
from: Steve Winter
concerning: Empires of the Middle Ages

The

following are the corrections and interpretations we’ve

discovered and developed in the many playings of this fine game.

The Map:

The

The

On the Language Code Guide, the color on 230: 0ld Saxon i%
wrong. It should be something between 220 and 240.

That same color should be wused in Saxony (231R) and
Brandenburg (232R).

Hungary should be the Non-Indoeuropean language color.

There is no Game Turn Record Track on the map, and no Game
Turn Marker.

Counters:

The Tie and Claim markers would be more useful if they were
printed back-to-back, or if Tie markers were backprinted with
combined Tie + Claim markers so they could just be flipped
over when Claim is gained in an area that already has a Tie.
Because the counter sets are not all the same — red and green
have lots of counters, orange and black have the fewest, and
yvellow and blue are in between — it would be usefule if the
scenarioes had some indication of which sets are best suited
to which positions, so players don’t start setting up only te
.find that there aren’t enough counters in the set they’ve
chosen.

There are more Gold tokens than are needed, and not enough
‘neutral social state markers.

Rules:

Section 9, 2d paragraph, clearly indicates that the target for
a foreign endeavor must be an enemy or neutral area. It also
clearly identifies Diplomacy as a foreign endeavor.

Yet 12.13 states "A Player may form a Diplomatic Tie with any
area, regardless of whether the area lies within or without
the player’s empire."

This inconsistency raises two questions: 1) can Diplomacy be
used against an area the player controls? 2) what, if
anything, is subtracted from the player’s Diplomacy stature
when performing Diplomacy against an area he controls?

We have most often played assuming that 12.13 is wrong, ang
with a strict application of 9 92. More and more, however, we
are beginning to suspect that 1is wrong. If so, that still
leaves question #2, above.

We propose ultimately that this be the final interpretation:
Diplomacy can be attempted against any area, in accordance



with 12.13; Section 9 92 is amended to indicate that Diplomacy
is both a foreign and domestic endeavor; and that a leader’s
Stature is reduced by 3 when using Diplomacy against an area

he controls (5 if it’s Venice), similar to what is described
in 12.17.
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